Accessibility Tools

Havering College Stepping Stones

Stepping Stones Day Nursery

All nurseries in England are required to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which sets out the standard for learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years. Your child is unique and we use the framework to take every child’s unique qualities into account when planning their day.

There are seven areas of the EYFS which are split into two sections:

Prime Areas
  • Communication & language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
Specific Areas
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

For our younger children we focus strongly on the Prime Areas and as they get older we then focus on all seven areas.

Each area is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult led and child initiated activities. Play is an essential part in your child’s development and it helps to build their confidence as they learn to explore. Children learn by copying one another and deciding on what they would like to do. We are here to offer the support and guidance that the children need and are on hand to nurture them and offer them the best experience whilst they are here with us.

Contact the Stepping Stones Team

Please tell us your name
Please enter a valid email address
Invalid Input
Please enter a message
Please confirm
Invalid Input

The Stepping Stones Handbook

Stepping Stones Handbook